Farley wins in Tamworth

Jared Farley takes on his family-owned Mud Bomb in the championship round. Photo by Phillip Wittke.


  • Veteran Jared Farley covered two of three bulls to claim victory Saturday at the Tamworth Invitational.
  • The event marked the third stop on the PBR Australian Cup Series.
  • The New South Wales crowd gave a standing ovation to retiring PBR stars Brendon Clark, Luke Snyder and Shane “Mad Dog” Simpson.

In This Article

TAMWORTH, Australia – Riding two of three bulls Saturday night, Jared Farley earned the win at the Tamworth Invitational, the third stop on the PBR Australian Cup Series.

New South Wales fans showed up in their thousands to bid farewell to retiring PBR stars Brendon Clark, Luke Snyder and Shane “Mad Dog” Simpson, while witnessing a night of action that saw 17 bulls ridden, including a thrilling championship round.

Cliff Richardson took the early lead in Round 1 with 86.5 points aboard West Texas Crude, while Budd Williamson put up 85.5 points. Farley, meanwhile, posted a score of 84, and Mitch Paton notched 83.5 points.

In Round 2, Canadian Ty Pozzobon produced a round-winning ride with 88 points aboard Navaho, which put him second in the average going into the championship round. At the end of Round 2, only Farley had covered two bulls for a total of 163 points.

Unlike the Wollongong Invitational, where many riders were seeing the Australian bulls for the first time and had to take the advice of the locals in the bull draft, this time around, they had a better understanding of what they were up against.

Farley was quick to select his match up aboard his family-owned bull Mud Bomb, while Pozzobon chose the unridden Sports Machine.

The bulls won the first four matchups in the final round, before Justin Paton put a score on the board giving him a three-bull total of 162 points. Pozzobon was unsuccessful against Sports Machine, giving Farley the event win.

Jared Farley and Brendon Clark
Jared Farley and Brendon Clark in Tamworth. Photo by Phillip Wittke.

During the presentation ceremony, the New South Wales crowd gave a standing ovation to the retiring Snyder, Clark and Simpson. All three have played an important role in the growth and development of the sport in Australia, stated PBR General Manager Glen Young.

“Luke has been coming here for 10 years now and has made many friends over that time and it was great to be a part of his last ride of his career,” Young said. “Then, there’s Brendon, the second most successful Australian rider in PBR history and a true ambassador to our sport worldwide, whilst Shane Simpson will undoubtedly go down as one of all-time great bullfighters that this country has produced, with all three athletes going to be sadly missed.”

Round 1:
1st – Cliff Richardson – 86.5 points
2nd – Budd Williamson – 85.5 points
3rd – Jared Farley – 84 points

Round 2:
1st – Ty Pozzobon – 88 points
2nd – Zane Lambert – 87 points
3/4th – Luke Snyder / Justin Paton – 86.5 points

Championship Round:
1st – Justin Paton – 75.5 points

1st – Jared Farley – 163 points
2nd – Justin Paton – 162 points
3rd – Ty Pozzobon – 88 points
4th – Zane Lambert – 87 points

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.