Cooper Davis picks up the Round 1 win in Billings Unleash The Beast
Mauney avoids serious injury and expects to be back for Anaheim Unleash The Beast
Lockwood returning to Nashville riding better than ever one year after his bid to win a second consecutive world title came to a halt Unleash The Beast
Breaking down the top world title contenders’ PBR Major performances heading into Nashville Unleash The Beast
Dirteater released from hospital, expects to be back in time for 2019 PBR World Finals Unleash The Beast
Don't miss the Music City Knockout LIVE on CBS Unleash The Beast
Lockwood goes back-to-back to win Houston Invitational and reclaim PBR world lead Unleash The Beast
Unleash The Beast
Cooper Davis picks up the Round 1 win in Billings
Cooper Davis picks up the Round 1 win in Billings

BILLINGS, Mont. – 2016 PBR (Professional Bull Riders) World Champion Cooper Davis (Buna, Texas) looked like he was back to his championship form as he earned the Round 1 win of the Unleash The Beast Billings Invitational, presented by Cooper Tires, on Friday night at Rimrock Auto Arena.

Davis surged to the top of the leaderboard after an 88-point ride aboard All Access (Vold Rodeo) late in the event. The Texas cowboy’s ride was his fifth round win of the 2019 season.

With the win he earned 100 points, but more importantly moved from 10th to 8th in the PBR world standings.

The 2018 Billings winner, Claudio Montanha Jr. (Pacaembu, Brazil), finished in second place after he covered Rising Sun (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Clay Struve/Heald Pro Bulls) for 87.25 points. Montanha earned 60 world points with the ride.

The 29-year-old cowboy moved from 22nd to 19th in the world standings with the finish.

Ezekiel Mitchell (Rockdale, Texas) and Joao Ricardo Viera (Itatinga, Brazil) finished in a tie for fourth place on Friday night.

Mitchell avenged his 0-for-4 weekend last week in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. The 22-year old rookie covered Red Beard (Mossyrock Cattle Company) for 87 points on night one of the three-day event.

Viera brought the crowd to its feet with his first qualified ride in his last seven outs. He rode Homegrown (Eno Bucking Bulls) for 87 points.

With 45 world points, Mitchell is holding steady at the No. 12 spot in the world standings while Vieira moved past 2017 World Champion Jess Lockwood (Volborg, Montana) into 3rd.

Rounding out the Top 5 were equal 86.75-point rides by Junio Quaresima (Meridiano, Brazil) and Oklahoma’s Cherokee Kid, Ryan Dirteater (Holbert).

Quaresima went the distance on Happy Camper (Two Bit Bucking Bulls) while Dirteater made the whistle aboard Cut The Cord (Broken Arrow Bucking Bulls). With the finish each rider earned 22.5 world points.

Round 2 will begin at 5:45 p.m. MT on Saturday, April 13 from Billings.

Championship Sunday from “Big Sky Country” will air on CBS Sports Network, with all the action from Round 3 and the championship round starting at 2:00 p.m. ET.

Friday’s Round 1 will be viewable Saturday starting at 8 a.m. ET on  or via the RidePass mobile app.

>PBR Unleash The Beast Event Results
Billings Invitational, presented by Cooper Tires
Rimrock Auto Arena – Billings, Montana
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Round 4-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Cooper Davis, 88-0-0-0-88.00-100 Points.
2. Claudio Montanha Jr., 87.25-0-0-0-87.25-60 Points.
3. João Ricardo Vieira, 87-0-0-0-87.00-45 Points.
(tie). Ezekiel Mitchell, 87-0-0-0-87.00-45 Points.
5. Ryan Dirteater, 86.75-0-0-0-86.75-22.5 Points.
(tie). Junio Quaresima, 86.75-0-0-0-86.75-22.5 Points.
7. Ruger Piva, 85.75-0-0-0-85.75-5 Points.
8. Dakota Buttar, 84.25-0-0-0-84.25
9. Stetson Lawrence, 83.5-0-0-0-83.50
10. Lindomar Lino, 79-0-0-0-79.00
11. Mason Taylor, 75.5-0-0-0-75.50
12. Kaique Pacheco, 67.5-0-0-0-67.50
Jose Vitor Leme, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Chase Outlaw, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Luciano De Castro, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Cody Teel, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Matt Triplett, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Cannon Cravens, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Joe Frost, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Alisson De Souza, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Silvano Alves, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Danilo Carlos Sobrinho, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Taylor Toves, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Colten Jesse, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Derek Kolbaba, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Scottie Knapp, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Keyshawn Whitehorse, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Marco Antônio Eguchi, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Dylan Smith, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Marcus Mast, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Bryan Titman, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Dalton Krantz, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Lawson Nobbs, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Luis Blanco, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Dakota Louis, 0-0-0-0-0.00

35 facts about the Top 35 from the summer run
Teel wins second event of the season in Billings