Heffernan wins Adelaide PBR Australia event

Cody Heffernan is attempting to win a second PBR Australia title in 2018.


  • Cody Heffernan earned the win in Adelaide, Australia, by riding Light Em Up for 85.5 points in the championship round.
  • The win is Heffernan’s first of 2018.
  • Cliff Richardson, Fraser Babbington, Rohan Markham and Justin Paton rounded out the Top 5.

In This Article

ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA – Cody Heffernan went 2-for-3 to earn the PBR Australia victory this weekend in front of a sold-out crowd at Adelaide Entertainment Centre.

Heffernan started strongly in Adelaide by winning Round 1 with 85 points on Ransom. He then bounced back in the championship round with 85.5 points on Light Em Up after being bucked off by On Point (4.13 seconds) in Round 2.

The 2016 PBR Australia champion then looked on as his 170.5 points was good enough for the event victory after Fraser Babbington and Cliff Richardson bucked off their final bulls of the evening.

Rounding out the Top 5 behind and Richardson and Babbington was Rohan Markham (2-for-2, 156.75 points) and Justin Paton (2-for-3, 151.5 points).

Markham was unable to compete in the championship round because of an injury.

During the championship round, Babbington challenged the Lincoln Welders officials after his bull High Flying Akubra fouled coming out of the chute. However, Babbington came up short of the 8-second buzzer on his re-ride (Rodeo Blues).

Richardson was bucked off by 2016 PBR Australia champion bull SweetPro’s Hillbilly Deluxe in 3.21 seconds. Hillbilly Deluxe was named the bull of the event with a massive 44.5 points.

Kurt Shephard (83.5 points on Smash & Grab) split the Round 2 win with Richardson (83.5 points on Hot Dots).

Event Results:

1. Cody Heffernan 85/0.00/85.5 – 170.5
2. Cliff Richardson 83.5/83.5/0.00 – 167
3. Fraser Babbington 84/82.75/0.00 – 166.75
4. Rohan Markham 82.5/74.25/0.00 – 156.75
5. Justin Paton 76.25/75.25/0.00 – 151.5

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.