Kolbaba and Lockwood advance in night one of Music City Knockout

Derek Kolbaba's 89-point ride on Black Rose was the highest-scored ride on Friday night. Photo: Andy Watson / BullStockMedia.com


  • Derek Kolbaba led the way in night one of the Music City Knockout after an 89-point ride on Black Rose to advance.
  • Seven riders advanced with qualified rides on Friday, the remaining five riders advanced on buckoff time. Each rider who moved on received 50 points toward the world standings.
  • Jess Lockwood also advanced Friday after recording an 86.75-point ride on Pneu-Dart's Doomsday.

In This Article

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – The opening rounds of the PBR’s (Professional Bull Riders) Built Ford Tough Music City Knockout, presented by Cooper Tires, was all about one simple thing, win and advance. Twelve riders advanced out of the opening rounds of the Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS) head-to-head bracket-style competition Friday night at Bridgestone Arena.

Young gun Derek Kolbaba set the high-mark Friday after turning in an 89-point ride on Black Rose in Round 2 to defeat Dener Barbosa, who rode Charge for 85 points.

Five of the advancing riders, including Kolbaba, recorded qualified rides on Friday. The final seven riders to advance did so based on highest buck off time in their matchup.

The matchups for Saturday’s Round 3 are as follows:

Jess Lockwood on Bad Beagle
Cody Nance on Slinger Jr.

Guilherme Marchi on Uncle Tink
Fabiano Vieira on Buckeye Bill

Kaique Pacheco on Jammin Jackson’s Handsome Jeff
Mason Low on Time Bomb

Derek Kolbaba on Losing My Religion
Stormy Wing on Cut The Cord

Eduardo Aparecido on Freak of Nature
Cody Teel on Bad Touch

Cooper Davis on Lester Gillis
Matt Triplett on Dusty’s Revenge

The official Music City Knockout bracket can be found here.

Each cowboy who advanced to Round 3 received 50 points toward the world standings.

There are 300 world points on the line for the rider who turns in the highest aggregate score during the event. Every rider who turned in a qualified ride on Friday put themselves in position for the Ride Score Championship.

In Round 2, 2016 PBR Rookie of the Year Jess Lockwood, last week’s winner in Tulsa, Oklahoma, covered Pneu-Dart’s Doomsday for 86.75 points. The ride was just enough to squeeze past Luciano de Castro, who rode Funky Junk for 86.25 points.

Castro advanced to the second round after riding Set ‘em Up Joe for 86.25 points in Round 1, placing himself in good position to qualify for the Second Chance Bracket.

Cody Teel defeated Rubens Barbosa in Round 2 when he rode Ram It for 85.5 points. Teel advanced to Round 2 after lasting 6.90 seconds on Stanley FatMax, enough to get past Tanner Byrne who reached 6.28 seconds on Big Benny.

Stormy Wing and Matt Triplett were the remaining cowboys to advance on qualified rides. Wing rode Pit Bull for 85 points to beat Kurt Shephard, while Triplett rode Zacchaeus for 84 points, beating Dakota Buttar.

The remaining riders will return to Bridgestone Arena Saturday for the conclusion of the Built Ford Tough Music City Knockout, presented by Cooper Tires. Riders who moved on from Friday, will return for a third round of head-to-head competition, then the eight eliminated riders with the highest scores or buckoff times will get one more shot in the Second Chance Bracket. 

Once a Final Four is set, they will battle until one is crowned the Champion in the Music City.

The action will begin on PBR LIVE at 7:30 p.m. ET, then CBS Sports Network will take over starting with “Inside the PBR Majors” at 9:30 p.m. ET.

PBR Digital Editor Kristian Limas contributed to this report.

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
Built Ford Tough Music City Knockout, presented by Cooper Tires
Bridgestone Arena, Nashville, Tennessee
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Round 4-Round 5-Round 6-Round 7-Round 8-Round 9-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Luciano De Castro, 86.25-86.25-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-172.50
2. Derek Kolbaba, 0-89-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-89.00
3. Ryan Dirteater, 88.25-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-88.25
4. Gage Gay, 87.25-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-87.25
5. Jess Lockwood, 0-86.75-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-86.75
6. Cody Teel, 0-85.5-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-85.50
7. Silvano Alves, 85.5-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-85.50
8. Dener Barbosa, 0-85-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-85.00
9. Mike Lee, 85-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-85.00
10. Stormy Wing, 0-85-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-85.00
11. Shane Proctor, 84.75-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-84.75
12. Matt Triplett, 0-84-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-84.00
Eduardo Aparecido, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Chase Outlaw, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Cooper Davis, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Cody Nance, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Mason Lowe, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Fabiano Vieira, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Claudio Montanha Jr., 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Marco Antonio Eguchi, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Guilherme Marchi, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Stetson Lawrence, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Brennon Eldred, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Koal Livingston, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Ramon de Lima, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Emilio Resende, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Dakota Buttar, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Cody Rodeo Tyler, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Kurt Shephard, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Cody Campbell, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Nevada Newman, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Tanner Byrne, 0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0.00

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.